Summer Play List

We are right smack in the middle of summertime weather, which means there are some great songs out there for us to jam out to!  I’ve made up a list of my top summer songs this year.  These are the songs I just can’t get out of my head and sometimes even have to wait till the song is over before I can go on with whatever I’m doing!  (Anyone else stay in the car until a song is over?!

Alrighty so here is my list…in no specific order 🙂

Saltwater Gospel – Eli Young Band    

Nothing says summer more to me than this song right here!  Who doesn’t love the idea of summer time and the beach.  What I love most about this song is the message behind it and what a person can get out of some ‘saltwater’ time.  Whether you are on a beach or a boat, just being a part of the water can be a divine experience.  Watching sunrises and sunsets can often put things in perspective.  I also always feel a type of spiritual connection and amazement when I look out over the ocean and realize just how small or huge an impact a person can have on our planet.  There’s so many striking lyrics in this catchy and ‘fun’ summer song that really can go a lot deeper.  “I just think about how small I am and life after we’re gone I’m out here by myself But I know I’m not alone Yeah, I got all the proof I need”.  If you haven’t yet, be sure to check this one out!

 

Castaway – Zac Brown Band

Now, while Saltwater Gospel was poignant, yet fun, this song by ZBB is just a GREAT straight up loving live and summer drinking song.  The tune is off of their latest album, Jekyll and Hyde released earlier in 2015.  This song makes you think of an amazing tropical vacation with your best friends where you get to kick back, relax, and pretend that no one can come and find you for a little while at least. The groove behind this music is extremely tropical, relaxed, and just yells summer.  These guys have done it again with making a catchy and chill song where everyone around you is suddenly friends dancing around a tikki bar. So yes, pour me another one, make it a strong one, while I listen to this song again.

Love Drunk – Steve Moakler 

More time to relax?!  Perfect.  Take a few minutes of your day to sip on something cold and enjoy this laidback tune by Pittsburg native Steve Moakler.  I first heard of this lovely chill guy from Sirius XM Radio.  He has a previous single released call Suitcase, which also fits the bill of fun, chill, and hanging out music.  This song Love Drunk made it onto my summer jams because it’s a song that makes you think about being out with friends and loving your life.  The song is featuring lyrics about a lovely lady who is making him love drunk and trying to keep it cool and together even though it’s not easy for him.  Summer is a time for romance people!  How many of you have been out in the summer and met someone who immediately made you feel like you were buzzing off of them.

 

American Country Love Song – Jake Owen

So, let me be a downer for a brief moment, I was so sad when I heard that Jake Owen had a rough personal life this year and that his marriage had ended.  And then he manages to release an amazing track of American Country Love Song after going through all of this.  Sigh.

“It’s playing in the night air
Through the speakers all night long
Couple kids just livin’
That American country love song”

Perfect.  These lyrics and summer romance all rolled up into one perfect song.  A little sweet, a little fun, and all around americana love song.  Take a listen.  And to make this song a little better, Jake Owen actually took a VW Love Bus on tour to promote this album.

http://tasteofcountry.com/jake-owen-american-country-love-song-video/

I love this man.  BTW Jake, I’m single….

 

Dirty Laundry – Carrie Underwood

Ok I needed to get my country divas in here somewhere and just heard this one FINALLY on the radio off her latest Storyteller album.  I truly hope her husband never upsets her in any way, shape, or form because this woman is not someone I would want to mess with.  In this AWESOME badass summer tune Carrie takes on the persona of a woman that catcher her husband being, shall we say, a little unfaithful to her.  This woman power anthem is great because well, she’s just going to do his laundry and make sure the whole world knows about it.  The girl’s a classy lady and it looks like this guy is out again with some more low class.  I love that she mentions she’ll be making sure to hang is dirty laundry out for all to see since she’s got nothing to hide.  Rock on Carrie.

“That lipstick on your collar, well, it ain’t my shade of pink
And I can tell by the smell of that perfume, it’s like forty dollars too cheap
And there’s a little wine stain on the pocket of your white cotton thread
Well, you drink beer and whiskey, boy, and you know I don’t drink red”

 

Make You Mine – High Valley 

THANK YOU SIRIUS XM RADIO!!!! Again, they are responsible for introducing me to this excellent band that hails from our neighbors up north.  Their latest single, Make You Mine,  is a good old country song that makes you think of summer afternoons and the county fair.  The brothers, Brad and Curtis, pull off yet another fun-loving country number.  Instrumentally their music is much closer to country roots and as someone who grew up in a more rural area, I can in fact relate to a pale moon sky and the small town feel.  This song is constantly stuck in my head and I can’t stop listening to it. The song even ends with a longer instrumental segment that really just makes me want to dance every time I hear it.   They have previously released albums including County Line, which I strongly recommend you check out as well.  These brothers are grounded in their roots, which is reflected in their music, lyrics, and how they interact with their fans.

http://www.highvalleymusic.com  GO BUY ALL THEIR MUSIC (you’ll be glad you did)

 

Sleep Without You – Brett Young 

Ok, so, just in case you have been living under a rock these past few months and haven’t caught on yet, Brett Young.  BRETT YOUNG!  Seriously, you should know who he is and if you don’t oh man are you missing out.  I saw Brett Young open up for a show in New Jersey this year and was already previously hooked from hearing him on the radio.  He currently has a new hit single (that, in my opinion, was career changing and is successfully launching his country career) called ‘Sleep Without You’.  Brett Young.  Where do I begin.  I’m going to keep this brief because I am going to devote an ENTIRE blog just to him. So back to this song. It’s a love song, but it’s upbeat!  Also, his voice will make you fall in love instantly.  Seriously.  Go listen right now.  The song speaks for itself so that’s all I got.

“Even if I tried without you by my side I’d be dreamin with my eyes open”  heart throb

 

Somewhere on a Beach  – Dierks Bentley

Ok, so many people are calling this the follow up to his previous hit Drunk on a Plane.  This beach bummin’ and relaxing song comes of of Dierk’s latest album Black.  Perfect vacation getaway from everything and everyone who just screwed up and you just don’t even care anymore.  Onto bigger and better things.  This song is for everyone who needs to remember that life is better when you’re somewhere on a beach. It’s got everyone’s favorite parts of summer rolled into one song: beach, booze, nothing to worry about, no regrets.

“I’m somewhere on a beach, sipping something strong…”  Yes Dierks, I wish I could do that all summer long too.  But since I can’t, whenever this song is on I at least escape for a few minutes.

For Her – Chris Lane 

Ok, ok, ok.  Hear me out on this one.  It’s not exaaaaactly a summer song, but it’s one that’s out this summer, and it’s about love, and the guy who sings it is another total throb.  Also, he’s super funny and if you have Snap Chat, you should add the guy because he’s a trip.  His previous hit Fix can be heard on the radio too.  I’m ready for his newest album Girl Problems  to come out! This song made the summer list because it’s a windows down, music turned up kind of song.  The song is a perfect one for those who are with that special someone and the things that go through our minds when we’re together.

“She’s the kind that makes you wanna..
Ride around, windows down, yeah, with the radio
She’s the kind that makes you wanna…
Drop your plans, drop a grand, hell where the money goes”

This song is for those summer nights when you just want to be out enjoying the evening with that special someone, and it doesn’t even matter what happens.  I had to include it, it’s such a sweet and happy summer love song 🙂

 

Vacation – Thomas Rhett

Everybody calm down.  This song has gotten the country music listeners all in a tizzy.  “It’s not county!”  Oh. Stop. It.  Country music goes in a million different directions.  Now yes, this song is not a typical country song, however, that is the genre it’s listed as so it makes my list.  Thomas Rhett is a rising star on the country music scene and this song is for everyone out there who has the imagination to pretend they’re at a fabulous vacation spot.

“I got my Solo Cup amplifier, playing all my jams
And my Walgreens beach chair working on my tan
This like it’s Jamaica and I’m sipping on some Red Stripe
But I’m in Decatur, baby, crushing on that Busch light”

I absolutely love this song and see it as a party anthem for when everyone is together celebrating summer and making the most of what they have.  To each their own.  So cheers Thomas Rhett, I will also be partying like I’m on vacation all summer.

 

Well, I hope you guys enjoyed my summer pics in country music and even picked up a few more bands and singers you haven’t heard of before.  As always, if you like the song, buy it on iTunes and support the artist! ❤ ❤ ❤

Stay Cool People!

Love and All Things Country 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

